Conference for mobile developers

November 11, 2017
Radisson Slavyanskaya,
Europe Square 2, Moscow

Universal links — tons of pitfalls


RU /

Both Google and Apple claim that the so called universal links can be used on their platform. According to the plan, by clicking this link user will get to the app, if it's installed, or to the website, if it's not.

In reality, if you precisely follow the instructions, there will be more problems than solutions.

What if there is no such function in the mobile version of the website? What if the link is opened in WebView? What if the new version of the app supports this function, but the old one not? How to minify links and not to break anything? How to direct users with no app to the App Store and not to the website? How to make the thing to which the link was directing open after the download?

All this gets more complicated by the fact that right after the universal links are launched, there is no way back. They have to be supported, and perhaps your mistakes will stay with you forever.

Not to get this "forever" mistakes, we offer you this talk. We expect that after it you will get enough information to launch a modern system of universal links in your company from scratch with no doubts or problems.


Konstantin Yakushev, Badoo

Has been working at Badoo since 2015. Started there as a frontend developer, is currently working in a team of API architects.

All talks  

Контакты

Программа конференции

program@mobiusconf.com

Спонсоры

sponsors@mobiusconf.com

Партнеры

partners@mobiusconf.com

Конференция по мобильной разработке

11 ноября 2017
Санкт-Петербург

Универсальные ссылки — дворец из подводных камней


RU /

И Google, и Apple рекламируют, что на их платформе можно использовать так называемые универсальные ссылки. По задумке, нажав на такую ссылку, пользователь попадёт в приложение, если оно установлено, или на мобильный сайт, если нет.

На практике, если просто сделать по инструкции производителя, проблем будет больше, чем решений.

Что, если этой функции нет на мобильном сайте? Что, если ссылка открыта в WebView? Что, если новая версия приложения поддерживает эту функцию, а старая — нет? Как минифицировать ссылки, чтобы ничего не сломалось? Как направить пользователей без приложения в App Store, а не на веб-сайт? Как сделать так, чтобы после установки сразу открывалось то, на что была ссылка?

Всё это осложняется тем, что, как только универсальные ссылки запущены, пути назад нет. Нужно их поддерживать, и ваши ошибки, возможно, навсегда останутся с вами.

А чтобы у вас осталось меньше ошибок «навсегда», мы и предлагаем этот доклад. Мы ожидаем, что человек, прослушавший его, получит достаточно информации, чтобы с нуля запустить современную систему универсальных ссылок в своей компании без проблем и сомнений.

Константин Якушев, Badoo

В Badoo с 2015 года. Пришёл в компанию как фронтенд-разработчик, сейчас работает в команде архитекторов API.


Все спикеры и доклады  

Контакты

Программа конференции

program@mobiusconf.com

Спонсоры

sponsors@mobiusconf.com

Партнеры

partners@mobiusconf.com